Microwave Magnetics and Nanomagnetism Group


May 17, 2011

Our group discussed safety issues and revised the General Safety Considerations in today's group meeting. Click here for the rivesed General Safety Considerations.

April 18, 2011

Mingzhong Wu received the 2011 Early Career Faculty Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching or Mentoring Award from the CSU College of Natural Sciences.

Magnetics Seminar on September 27, 2010, 4:00PM-5:00PM

Title: Magnetization dynamics considerations for spin-torque switched MRAM
Speaker: Professor William H. Butler, Center for Materials for Information Technology and Department of Physics, University of Alabama

Magnetics Seminar on September 20, 2010, 4:00PM-5:00PM

Title: Nonlinear electromagnetic response of ferromagnetic metals: giant magnetoimpedance and ferromagnetic resonance
Speaker: Professor Arthur Yelon, Polytechnique Montreal, Canada

Magnetics Seminar on September 9, 2010, 9:00AM-10:00AM

Title: Wideband material characterization of printed circuit board laminates - taking into account conductor surface roughness
Speaker: Dr. Marina Y. Koledintseva, EMC Laboratory, Electrical and Computer Engineering Department, Missouri University of Science & Technology

Magnetics Seminar on April 26, 2010, 4:00PM-5:00PM

Title: Biomagnetics - an interdisciplinary field where magnetics, biology, and medicine overlap
Speaker: Professor Shoogo Ueno, Department of Applied Quantum Physics, Kyushu University, Japan

Magnetics Seminar on April 15, 2010, 3:00PM-4:00PM

Title: Microwave properties and "memory effect" in magnetic nanowire array
Speaker: Professor John Q. Xiao, Department of Physics and Astronomy, University of Delaware

Magnetics Seminar on April 9, 2010, 3:00PM-4:00PM

Title: The Use of Micromagnetics to Investigate Microwave Assisted Magnetic Reversal
Speaker: Tim Fal, Department of Physics, University of Colorado at Colorado Springs

Magnetics Seminar on March 30, 2010, 1:00PM-2:00PM

Title: Bit patterned media for high density magnetic recording
Speaker: Dr. Olav Hellwig, San Jose Research Center, Hitachi Global Storage Technologies

Magnetics Seminar on March 8, 2010, 4:00PM-5:00PM

Title: Heusler compounds: multifunctional materials for spintronics
Speaker: Professor Claudia Felser, Johannes Gutenberg University of Mainz, Inst. for Inorganic & Analytical Chemistry, Mainz, Germany

Magnetics Seminar on March 2, 2010, 3:30PM-4:30PM

Title: Voltage control of magnetism in multiferroic nanocomposites
Speaker: Professor Leszek Malkinski, Department of Physics and Advanced Materials Research Institute, University of New Orleans

Magnetics Seminar on February 15, 2010, 4:00PM-5:00PM

Title: Fractional synchronization of a spin torque nano-oscillator to a microwave field
Speaker: Professor Andrei Slavin, Department of Physics, Oakland University

December 21, 2009

The paper "Formation of random dark envelope solitons from incoherent waves" by Wei Tong, Mingzhong Wu, Lincoln D. Carr, and Boris A. Kalinikos was accepted for publication by Physical Review Letters.

Magnetics Seminar on January 11, 2010

Professor Sergej O. Demokritov from Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster, Germany, will give a seminar at 2:00 PM on January 11. The abstract of his talk is given here.The seminar will be in the Physics Conference Room. Anybody who is interested is welcome to attend.

November 30, 2009

The review paper "Recent advances in processing and applications of microwave ferrites", which Mingzhong Wu co-authored, is currently the first one in the list of Science Direct TOP25 Hottest Articles in Journal of Magnetism and Magnetic Materials. For more information, please visit here.

Student Award in November 2009

Zihui Wang received the IEEE Student Travel Award from the 2010 Joint Intermag/MMM Conference.

Student Award in October 2009

Lei Lu and Aaron Hagerstrom received the Outstanding Student Paper Award in the 2009 American Physical Society Four Corners Section Meeting.

Magnetics Seminar on September 30, 2009

Dr. Michael Mallay from Seagate Technology will give a seminar at 4:00 PM on September 30. Dr. Mallary is an IEEE Fellow and is also one of this year's IEEE Distinguished Lecturers. The title of his talk will be The Evolution and Revolutions in Disk Drive Recording. The seminar will be in the Physics Conference Room. Anybody who is interested is welcome to attend.

September 21, 2009

Manuscript "Millimeter wave notch filters based on ferromagnetic resonance in hexagonal barium ferrites" by Young-Yeal Song et al. was accepted for publication in Applied Physics Letters.

Magnetics Seminar on September 18, 2009

Professor Mark Hoefer from North Carolina State University will give a seminar at 4:00 PM on September 18, 2009. He will speak on droplet solitons in a spin torque nanocontact. The seminar will be in the Physics Conference Room. Anybody who is interested is welcome to attend.

Magnetics Seminar on September 17, 2009

Dr. Theo Rasing will give a seminar at 4:00 PM on September 17, 2009. Dr. Rasing is a professor in the Radboud University Nijmegen (Netherlands). He is also one of this year's IEEE Distinguished Lecturers. He will speak on the control of magnetism with light. The seminar will be in the Physics Conference Room. Anybody who is interested is welcome to attend.

Aug 31th,2009

Our group walked through the magnetics laboratories and discussed safety issues in the morning of August 31. People who participated include Mingzhong Wu, Young-Yeal Song, Ke Sun, Zihui Wang, Lei Lu, Yiyan Sun, Aaron Hagerstrom, Joshua Bevivino, and Liam Kilcommons. Click here for more information.

Aug 26th,2009

In the fall of 2009, our group meeting will be held between 11:00 AM and 12:00 PM every Monday. In most of the meetings, there will be presentations given by either group members or external speakers. Anybody who is interested is welcome to attend. The meeting will be in the Physics Conference Room.

Aug 6th,2009

Our group website was opened in August 2009. This website was developed initially by Mitchell Knaub and was redesigned and upgraded recently by Zihui Wang.